Knit Sweater

by Christin Disi

My inspiration was a print from Elza Sunderland. In the painting I saw lots of movement and whimsy. It made me want to try to create something that moved and was light and airy.

ImageImage

 

Going on with the assignment was a struggle. Not too many of the structure we learned were light and airy. In the end I went along with knitting and learning to use the knitting machine. I can’t say that I have conquered it completely, but it sure didn’t get the best of me! My new challenge was figuring out a pattern that looked similar to what I had in mind.

 

Image

ImageImageImage

 

 

I made child’s 4T sweater for two reasons. 1 I was too scared to make a huge sweater that could possibly look horrible and 2 because I had know idea how long it was going to take me to finish. I spent a lot of time trying to understand how to use the machine and how to decipher the instructions. All in all things went well.

 

 

ImageImage

Image

 

The only things that needs to be fixed will be corrected with time. As I continue to use the machine and gain the know how and techniques. Things will get better.

